A JAMPACKED GYMNASIUM GREETED CLASS 2015 as the College of Medicine welcomed 400 freshmen students for School Year 2011-2012 on its Opening Exercises and Recognition Day on June 14, 2011. It was a well-attended activity with the Deans from all four Colleges present along with the Vice Chairman of the Board, Mr. Wilson T. Young, and other important administrative, academic and Hospital officials led by the President, Dr. Romeo A. Divinagracia.

The Dean of the College of Medicine, Dr. Alfaretta Luisa T. Reyes, warmly welcomed and congratulated the new students, who passed the tough screening imposed by the School. She also congratulated the upper classmen for having unceasingly endured the hardships and rigorous expectations of the life of a medical student. The Vice Chair also gave a brief message, stressing that infrastructure developments had been made and were still in progress to make the Center conducive and safe to learning. This was also reiterated by the President in his closing remarks, and he also congratulated the freshmen for choosing UERMMMCI.

The activity was highlighted with the recognition and awarding of both the faculty and students who performed well and/or had important accomplishments in the last school year. Faculty members who werecurrently appointed as President of Specialty Society or Chair of Specialty Boards were recognized, as well as those who received awards and citations from different societies. President Divinagracia was also awarded Professor Emeritus in Medicine. The recipients of the Best Teacher Awards for SY 2010-2011 were then announced.

This year's Dean Esperanza Lansang Best Teachers in the Basic Sciences were Dr. Ma. Theresa G. Cacas, Dr. Idelfa S. Elevazo, Dr. Ma. Cristina S. Elma-Zulueta, Dr. Araceli P. Jacoba, Dr. Ronaldo Marcelo G. Macaraig, Dr. Floro B. Madarcos, Dr. Natividad A. Salazar, Dr. Alfaretta Luisa T. Reyes, Dr. Rochelle C. Valera and Dr. Ma. Petrina S. Zotomayor.

The Dean Joven Cuanang Best Teachers in Clinical Sciences were also named: Dr. Geoffrey R. Battad, Dr. Virgilio R. De Gracia, Dr. Maribeth T. Delos Santos, Dr. Romeo A. Divinagracia, Dr. Gracieux Y. Fernando, Dr. Marietta C. Olaivar, Dr. Benalexander A. Pedro, Dr. Maria Felicidad A. Soto, Dr. Joseph Raymond S. Tapang and Dr. Ernesto L. Villavert. Each of the Best Teacher Awardees will receive US$ 150 from the UERM-Alumni Foundation USA, Inc.


<< Previous Article>> Next Article

Home | Back to Top