Consistent with its mission to develop outstanding health professionals, UERM, together with The Nippon Foundation and Exceed Worldwide, inked the Amendments to the Handover Agreement during the International Advisory Board meeting last March 12, 2019 in Marco Polo Hotel Manila. UERM was represented by Dr. Ester A. Garcia, President and Chief Academic Officer, The Nippon Foundation was represented by Mr. Ichiro Kabasawa, Executive Director, while Exceed Worldwide was represented by Mr. Carson Harte, the Chief Executive Officer.

During the meeting, UERM presented the history of the first and the only Philippine School of Prosthetics and Orthotics (PSPO) which offers the only Bachelor of Science in Prosthetics and Orthotics (BSPO) degree program in the country. Among the relevant topics discussed include the BSPO academic program, the PSPO clinic, the post-graduate internship program, and the various collaborations made with the community including the government and non-government organizations.

Important key players present during the meeting include Mr. Eriko Uchiyama (Project Coordinator of Disability and Child Welfare Team, The Nippon Foundation), Mr. Darryl Barrett (World Health Organization), Dr. Bella Ponferrada who represented Dr. Wigdan Madan (United Nations International Children’s Emergency Fund), Dr. Lyne Abanilla (Physicians for Peace), and Ms. Carmen Zubiaga (National Council on Disability Affairs). Representatives from the Department of Health, the Professional Regulation Commission, Technical Education and Skills Development Authority, and the Philippine Health Insurance Corporation were also present.

Since its establishment eight years ago, UERM PSPO is committed to care and heal the estimated 500,000 Filipinos with disabilities (PWDs) by offering quality prosthetics and orthotics education.

Seated (L-R): UERM VPAA – Dr. Gemiliano Aligui; Exceed Worldwide Chief Executive Officer – Mr. Carson Harte; UERM President – Dr. Ester A. Garcia; Nippon Foundation Executive Director – Mr Ichiro Kabasawa; National Disability Affairs OIC – Ms. Carmen Zubiaga; Senior TESDA Specialist – Ms. Cristina Dulce.

Second Row: (L-R) PO Alumni: Ashley Mercado, Aira Arcega, Gerard Ian Reyes; UERM Legal Counsel – Atty. Jonathan Sarte; UERM Internal Audit – Mr. Bobby Pakingan; International Society of Prosthetics & Orthotics – Dan Bloka; Exceed Worldwide – Ms. Carmen Garcia; UERM Senior VP – Ms. Carmelita Valdez; UERM CAReS Dean – Dr. Raquel Cabazor; UERM BSPO Program Director – Prof. Anna Lugue; UERM Hospital PO Clinician – Frances Acorda; Physicians for Peace CEO – Lyne Abanilla; UERM Hospital – Dr. Penny Bundoc; UNICEF – Dr. Bella Fonferrada; DOH – Tina Raymundo; TESDA – Edwin Maglalang; PRC – Raul Agustin; NORFIL – Ranil Sorongon; PO Alumnus – Nikko Taotgo;

Last Row (L-R): Exceed Board Member – David Boone; Nippon Foundation Project Coordinator of Disability and Child Welfare Team – Eriko Uchiyama; PO Alumnus - Julean Cadavillo; PO Alumnus – Jidy Jaradal; PO Alumnus – Marvin Paul Medena; World Health Organization – Mr. Darryl Barett.